Phoenix caught staring up at the clouds…

This morning’s daily check of overnight downloads to the Phoenix raw images webpage revealed a lot – and I mean a LOT – of images were taken of the sky on Sol 84. Very small images, poor resolution, but there was a vague hint of something on them… I wondered if they might have been taken to look for clouds, so taking a chance I made an animation out of 9 images taken through the lander’s left “eye”… and here’s what it shows (you’ll have to click on the image to see it moving… EDIT: oh, no you don’t! You can see them moving without enlarging the pic! Brilliant! I love WordPress!!)

Hmmm… not bad… but I still wasn’t sure I had actually ‘found’ clouds in the images. Then I noticed the 9 sky pictures taken through the right “eye” looked a bit clearer and more detailed, so I animated those as well… and this is what I got…

I’m a little more convinced now, but I await confirmation from someone – probably on UMSF – who knows what they’re on about…!

~ by phoenixpics on August 20, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
