Oh no, not ANOTHER blog…

Yes, I’m sorry, but I couldn’t resist it; I just felt the need to find a proper home for my growing number of “arty” Phoenix pics. They’re everywhere at the moment. Maybe it’s because I’m a naturally tidy person, I don’t know, but I like things in one place, you know? Anyway, here it is, and here you are, so thanks for dropping by, and I hope you like the pics you find here! They won’t be “colour-calibrated”, or 1000% accurate or scientifically valuable; I do unashamedly “pretty pictures”, just because I want to and love the way they look…

Like that one up there in the “header”. What’s that? Well, those are dust grains and rock particles and glassy beads and universe knows what else, imaged in extreme close up by a microscope on the Phoenix lander. That’s a combination of three black and white images taken through colour filters, colourised by me using my complicated imaging algorithms and procedures (haha, I wish!) to give the finished product a more, well, ‘martian’ look. Here’s a larger version…

… and you can find a really large version here

Now, I’m not saying those colours are accurate, but they are what I “get” when I use the same adjustments I use for the landscape pics which come out very similar to official NASA images, so maybe they’re not too far off… but I don’t care, to be honest, it’s just a lovely image. A “pretty picture”. And that’s what this site is all about.

So, here we are then… welcome to my online Phoenix gallery…

~ by phoenixpics on July 25, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
